## **Cherwell District Council**

### Council

Minutes of a meeting of the Council held at Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, OX15 4AA, on 18 July 2016 at 9.45pm

Present: Councillor Chris Heath (Chairman)

Councillor Maurice Billington (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor David Anderson

Councillor Ken Atack

Councillor Hannah Banfield Councillor Andrew Beere Councillor Claire Bell Councillor Hugo Brown Councillor Mark Cherry Councillor Colin Clarke Councillor Ian Corkin Councillor Surinder Dhesi Councillor John Donaldson

Councillor Sean Gaul

Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE

Councillor David Hughes Councillor Shaida Hussain

Councillor Tony Ilott

Councillor Mike Kerford-Byrnes

Councillor Jolanta Lis

Councillor James Macnamara

Councillor Kieron Mallon Councillor Nicholas Mawer Councillor Alastair Milne-Home

Councillor Richard Mould Councillor D M Pickford Councillor Lynn Pratt Councillor Nigel Randall Councillor G A Reynolds Councillor Barry Richards Councillor Dan Sames Councillor Les Sibley Councillor Nigel Simpson

Councillor Jason Slaymaker Councillor Nicholas Turner Councillor Tom Wallis Councillor Bryn Williams

Councillor Barry Wood Councillor Sean Woodcock

Apologies Councillor Mike Bishop for Councillor Nick Cotter absence: Councillor Carmen Griffiths

Councillor Simon Holland

Councillor Alan MacKenzie-Wintle

Councillor Nigel Morris Councillor Neil Prestidge Councillor Sandra Rhodes Councillor Douglas Webb

Officers: Sue Smith, Chief Executive

Scott Barnes, Director of Strategy and Commissioning

Karen Curtin, Commercial Director

Ian Davies, Director of Operational Delivery

Paul Sutton, Chief Finance Officer / Section 151 Officer

Kevin Lane, Head of Law and Governance / Monitoring Officer Natasha Clark, Interim Democratic and Elections Manager

### 36 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

# 37 Appointment of Honorary Alderman

The Chief Executive submitted a report to consider the appointment of former Councillor Fred Blackwell as an Honorary Alderman of Cherwell District Council.

In introducing the report, the Leader, Councillor Barry Wood, paid tribute to former Councillor Fred Blackwell for his service in public office as an elected Member of Cherwell District Council and its predecessor authority, Banbury Borough Council. During his long service, former Cllr Blackwell had held many offices, including that of Chairman of Council, Executive Member and Chairman of Committees. The Leader highlighted and paid particular thanks to former Councillor Blackwell for his time on the Planning Committee where his experience and local knowledge was of particular help to members.

A number of members also paid tribute to former Councillor Blackwell.

The Chairman read an email she had received from former Councillor Rose Stratford commending the appointment of former Councillor Blackwell as Honorary Alderman.

### Resolved

- (1) That former Councillor Fred Blackwell be appointed as an Honorary Alderman of Cherwell District Council in recognition of his eminent 45 years of service in public office as an elected Member of this Council and its predecessor authority, Banbury Borough Council.
- (2) That former Councillor Blackwell be thanked in particular for his time on the Planning Committee, where his experience and local knowledge was of particular help to all Members.

Following the vote, the Chairman invited former Councillor Blackwell to the rostrum and presented him with a scroll in recognition of his appointment as Honorary Alderman.

The meeting ended at 10.15 pm	
	Chairman:
	Date: